June 17, 2024

Golden Boot race tracker: Sophia Smith, Miyazawa Hinata lead early

The 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup is in full swing and we’ve already seen some great goals from the world’s top scorers. But which player will end the competition with the most goals and take home the Golden Boot?

Let’s take a look at the main screeners of the competition so far.

  • Sophia Smith, United States of America – 2
  • Miyazawa Hinata, Japan – 2
  • Stefanie Van der Gragt, The Netherlands – 1
  • Amanda Ilestedt, Sweden — 1
  • Fridolina Roflo, Sweden – 1
  • Hildah Magaia, South Africa – 1
  • Tanaka Mina, Japan – 1
  • Ueki Riko, Japan – 1
  • Endo June, Japan – 1
  • Amalie Vangsgaard, Denmark – 1
  • Lindsey Horan, United States of America – 1
  • Georgia Stanway, England – 1
  • Hildah Magaia, South Africa – 1
  • Ramona BachmannSwitzerland – 1
  • Seraina Piubel, Switzerland – 1
  • Esther Gonzalez, Spain – 1
  • Aitana Bonmati, Spain – 1
  • Hannah Wilkinson, New Zealand – 1
  • Stephanie Catley, Australia – 1

United States star striker Sophia Smith and Japan’s Miyazawa Hinata lead all scorers with two goals each. This is the 22-year-old Smith’s first Women’s World Cup.

[Behind Sophia Smith’s supreme confidence: ‘From Day 1, I’m a winner’]

Brazil’s Marta is the all-time leading scorer at the FIFA Women’s World Cup with 17 goals. She also holds the record for the most goals scored at any World Cup, men’s or women’s. The 37-year-old has a chance to extend his lead in Australia and New Zealand.

Christine Sinclair has the second most goals scored in the Women’s World Cup among active players with 10. Sinclair, 40, has scored 190 goals for Canada in 322 caps, which is the total international record for both men and women.

[Women’s World Cup awards predictions: Who will win Golden Boot, Golden Ball?]

United States women’s national team star Alex Morgan and Megan Rapinoe are tied for third on the active scoring list with nine goals each. If Rapinoe, Marta or Sinclair win the Golden Boot, they will become the oldest Golden Boot winners in men’s and women’s World Cup history. Rapinoe and Marta have previously won the Golden Boot.

Other names to keep an eye on include Australia’s Sam Kerr, Norway’s Ada Hegerberg and United States’ Trinity Rodman. All three would be first-time winners of the award.

CONTINUE Follow your favorites to personalize your FOX Sports experience

Sam Kerr

Sophia Smith

FIFA Women’s World Cup

Find out more from the FIFA Women’s World Cup Follow your favorites for information on games, news and more

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *