April 24, 2024

Manteo Community Health Center officially opens – The Coastland Times

Manteo Community Health Center formally opens

Published at 4:26 pm Sunday, July 23, 2023

The Manteo Community Health Center was officially opened on Tuesday, July 11, 2023.

From the idea of ​​a task force and an appointed chairman to the opening, the project took 370 days.

Volunteers dedicated to the medical needs of the Manteo family and others left the center to reach.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

The right person answered an initial phone call.

Two boards said to go ahead. A building owner said yes. Architect said ok. Builder said yes.

Medical professionals and staff said yes, we will operate the center and provide whole person health care.

The Manteo Community Health Center is located at 402 Budleigh Street in Manteo. The phone number to make an appointment is 252-300-3005.

Standing in front of the renovated building, Malcolm Fearing, chairman of the Manteo Township Health Care Task Force, began the ceremony with a bit of history.

“This was a community effort,” Fearing said.

The Manteo Board of Commissioners recognized that need. At the time, the existing primary care facility had sent letters to 2,418 patients saying it could no longer provide primary health care services.

Members of the community came to speak to the commissioners. The board’s deputy mayor Betty Selby said, “It’s a crisis.”

The board acted to establish the Health Care Task Force. Fearing thanked the board for its courage, wisdom and leadership.

Manteo town manager Melissa Dickerson answered a phone call from a man named Joe Rockenstein. He is the chief executive officer of Engelhard Medical Center.

He said “We want to help you.”

Rockenstein leads Ocracoke and Engelhard federally qualified health centers. Dickerson knew what that meant. Soon, the task force would too.

The partnership between the task force and Engelhard took off. Location found. Architect Ben Cahoon delivered plans in 30 days. Ocean Builders, the business owned by Tommy Twiddy, will be working on the interior space and exterior look. The opening date of July 11 was set and struck.

“This is completely about the community,” Rockenstein said last Tuesday.

Susan Pentz, chair of the Board of Directors for the Ocracoke and Engelhard centers, confirmed her board’s commitment to establishing a center in Manteo.

Rockenstein introduced the board members and thanked the many staff members who made the opening a success.

“We’re a little different,” Rockenstein said. “It’s health care the way it used to be.”

He said “you are not a number to us.”

The center is “whole person” healthcare. “We spend a little more time with patients.”

The center will provide physical healthcare services at the Budleigh Street offices. Mental health care will come at a distance. Dental care comes through a partnership with the Dare Community Care Clinic.

“We serve every patient,” Rockenstein said. “We cater to everyone.”

He said, “It’s not important. You can come and see us. Our job is to provide you with health care.”

Manteo Mayor Bobby Owens praised his town. “He was always first.”

Selby introduced the children and leaders involved in the summer program at the Dare County Youth Center.

Town of Manteo public works staff closed a portion of Budleigh Street for the event. A crowd estimated at 100 people gathered in front of the Budleigh Street building and across the street in the shade.

Rockenstein said his board-approved budget was $400,000. The construction bill was just under $300,000.

A reception in Town Hall sponsored by the Town of Manteo and the health centers followed the program.

Manteo Health Care Task Force

Members of the Manteo Health Care Task Force appointed by the Board of Commissioners for the Town of Manteo held their first meeting on August 2, 2022.

Malcolm Fearing, chairman of the Task Force

Betty Selby, Mayor Pro Tem, Manteo Board of Commissioners

Tod Clissold, Manteo commissioner

Jim Tobin, Dare County commissioner, alternate commissioner Ervin Bateman

Sheila Davies, director of Dare County Health and Human Services

Tess Judge, chair of the Outer Banks Hospital Board of Directors

Amy Montgomery, senior administrator of Operations at Outer Banks Hospital

Kevin Phillips, pharmacist from Island Pharmacy

Randy Fenneger, retired health attorney and public policy advocate

Beulah Ashby, retired Dare County employee and former Outer Banks Hospital Board of Directors member

Lisa Wheless, counselor, Dare County Schools liaison

2023 Ocracoke and Engelhard Health Center Board of Directors

Susan Pentz, chair of the board

Michael Adams, vice chairman of the board

Julio Morales, treasurer

Susan Dodd, secretary

Members: Ed Cody, Morton Gaskill, Art Keeney, Alice Keeney, Earl Pugh Jr. and Robert Wayne



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *