June 24, 2024

Women’s World Cup 2023: Group stage schedule, knockout round schedule, and TV information

The 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup is officially underway, with host nations New Zealand and Australia both in action on the first day of the tournament.

This is the first Women’s World Cup played with the expanded field of 32 teams, and this year’s edition features eight teams making their World Cup debut: Haiti, Republic of Ireland, Morocco, Panama, Philippines, Portugal, Vietnam and Zambia making their first appearance in the Women’s World Cup.

Australia is one of the favorites in this tournament, but they have drawn a difficult place in the tournament, as Group B is considered by many to be this year’s “Group of Death”. They will have to contend with Canada, Ireland and Nigeria to progress. to make matters worse, Australia received some tough news when the tournament started, as leading scorer Sam Kerr picked up a calf injury during training and will be sidelined for at least the first two games.

England are another favourite, but the Lionesses are without several key players due to injuries. Leah Williamson and Fran Kirby are both out with knee injuries, as is Beth Mead, who won the Golden Boot at Euro 2022.

Group F should be great to watch, given the presence of France and Brazil. Marta is playing in her last World Cup, and the two sides played a great game in the Round of 16 back in 2019, with France coming out on top 2-1.

Then there is the United States. The United States are considered the overall favorites for the tournament, but they are in for a changing of the guard. The USWMT is another team missing several key players due to injuries, including Mallory Swanson, Becky Sauerbrunn, Catarina Macario, Sam Mewis, and Christen Press. That opened the door for up-and-coming talents like Sophia Smith and Trinity Rodman who, along with mainstays like Julie Ertz, Rose Lavelle, and Alex Morgan, will try to dethrone Megan Rapinoe in the final World Cup.

Here’s a look at the full schedule, as well as TV information for each game.

Group Stage

All Eastern Time

Thursday, July 20

Group A: New Zealand 1, Norway 0

Group B: Australia 1, Republic of Ireland 0

Group B: Nigeria 0, Canada 0

Friday, July 21

Group A: Switzerland 2, Philippines 0

Group C: Spain 3, Costa Rica, 0

Group E: United States 3, Vietnam 0

Saturday, July 22

Group C: Japan 5, Zambia 0

Group D: England 1, Haiti 0

Group D: Denmark 1, People’s Republic of China 0

Sunday, July 23

Group G: Sweden 2, South Africa 1

Group E: Netherlands 1, Portugal 0

Group F: France 0, Jamaica 0

Monday, July 24

Group G: Italy 1, Argentina 0

Group H: Germany 6, Morocco 0

Group F: Brazil 4, Panama 0

Group H: Columbia 2, Republic of Korea 0

Tuesday, July 25

Group A: Philippines 1, New Zealand 0

Group A: Switzerland 0, Norway 0

Wednesday, July 26

Group C: Japan vs. Costa Rica, 1:00 a.m. ET, FS1

Group C: Spain vs. Zambia, 3:30 a.m. ET, FS1

Group B: Canada vs. Republic of Ireland, 8:00 a.m. ET, FS1

Group E: USA vs. Netherlands, 9:00 pm ET, FOX

Thursday, July 27

Group E: Portugal vs. Vietnam, 3:30 a.m. ET, FS1

Group B: Australia vs. Nigeria, 6:00 a.m. ET, FS1

Group G: Argentina vs. South Africa, 8:00 pm ET, FS1

Friday, July 28

Group D: England vs. Denmark, 4:30 a.m. ET, FS1

Group D: People’s Republic of China vs. Haiti, 7:00 a.m. ET, FS1

Saturday, July 29

Group G: Sweden vs. Italy, 3:30 a.m. ET, FS1

Group F: France vs. Brazil, 6:00 a.m. ET, FOX

Group F: Panama vs. Jamaica, 8:30 a.m. ET, FOX

Sunday, July 30

Group H: Korea Republic vs. Morocco, 12:30 a.m. ET, FOX

Group A: Norway vs. Philippines, 3:00 a.m. ET, FS1

Group A: Switzerland vs. New Zealand, 3:00 a.m. ET, FOX

Group H: Germany vs. Colombia, 5:30 a.m. ET, FS1

Monday, July 31

Group C: Costa Rica vs. Zambia, 3:00 a.m. ET, FS1

Group C: Japan vs. Spain, 3:00 a.m. ET, FOX

Group B: Republic of Ireland vs. Nigeria, 6:00 a.m. ET, FS1

Group B, Canada vs. Australia, 6:00 am ET, FOX

Tuesday, August 1

Group E: Vietnam vs. Netherlands, 3:00 a.m. ET, FS1

Group E: Portugal vs. United States, 3:00 a.m. ET, FOX

Group D: Haiti vs. Denmark, 7:00 a.m. ET, FS1

Group D: People’s Republic of China vs. England, 7:00 a.m. ET, FOX

Wednesday, August 2

Group G: South Africa vs. Italy, 3:00 a.m. ET, FS1

Group G: Argentina vs. Sweden, 3:00 a.m. ET, FOX

Group F: Jamaica vs. Brazil, 6:00 a.m. ET, FS1

Group F: Panama vs. France, 6:00 a.m. ET, FOX

Thursday, August 3

Group H: Republic of Korea vs. Germany, 6:00 am ET, FOX

Group H: Morocco vs. Colombia, 6:00 a.m. ET, FS1

Round 16

The top two teams from each group will advance to the Round of 16, with the games scheduled as follows:

Saturday, August 5

1A vs. 2C, 1:00 a.m. ET, FS1

1C vs. 2A, 4:00 a.m. ET, FS1

1E vs. 2G, 10:00 pm ET, FOX*
* Note: Should the United States win Group E, they will play in this game

Sunday, August 6

1G vs. 2E, 5:00 a.m. ET, FOX*
* Note: Should the United States finish second in Group E, they will play in this game

Monday, August 7

1D vs. 2B, 3:30 a.m. ET, FS1

1B vs. 2D, 6:30 a.m. ET, FS1

Tuesday, August 8

1F vs. 2E, 10:00 a.m. ET, FOX

1H vs. 2G, 2:00 pm ET, FOX

For example, as mentioned above with the United States in Group E, if they won the group they would play second place from Group G at 10:00 pm ET on Saturday, August 5th. If the United States advances from Group E after finishing second, they will play the winner of Group G at 5:00 am ET on Sunday, August 6.

Quarter finals

Thursday, August 10

1A/2C Winner vs. 1E/2G Winner, 9:00 pm ET, FOX (Match 57)

Friday, August 11

1C/2A Winner vs. 1G/2E Winner, 3:30 a.m. ET, FOX (Match 58)

Saturday, August 12

1B/2D Winner vs. 1F/2H Winner, 3:00 a.m. ET, FOX (Match 59)

1D/2B Winner vs. 1H/2F Winner, 6:30 a.m. ET, FOX (Match 60)

Semi-final games

Tuesday, August 15

Match 57 Winner vs. Match 58 Winner, 4:00 a.m. ET, FOX (Match 61)

Wednesday, August 16

Match 59 Winner vs. Match 60 Winner, 6:00 a.m. ET, FOX (Match 62)

Third Place Game

Saturday, August 19

Loser 61 vs Loser Match 62, 4:00 am ET, FOX

World Cup Final

Sunday, August 20

Match 61 winner vs. Match 62 winner, 6:00 a.m. ET, FOX

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *